Bariga Council Boss Rewards Inter-School Debate Winners (Photos)

By Tunde Akere SA Media, Chairman, Bariga LCDA . BARIGA LCDA UPDATE KOLADE ALABI REWARD INTER SECONDARY SCHOOL DEBATE PARTICIPANTS It was celebration all the way yesterday , as winner of the 1st Annual Kolade Alabi inter secondary school debate competition were rewarded with cash prizes of 100,000, while the first and second runners up received N75,000 and N50,000 respectively. Our Lady of Apostle Grammar school Yaba emerged the winner of the debate beating Ipakodo Senior Grammar School, Ikorodu and CMS Girl's Grammar School, Bariga to the second and third positions, respectively .
The keenly contested debate saw the contestants speaking on topics like The importance of Social Media to grassroot governance , should politicians be given access to own media houses, among others. The schools that emerged the fourth, fifth and sixth positions got N20,000 each for their efforts. Aside their cash rewards, all participants in the finals of the debate, as well as their schools got a cash prize of N10, 000 each, from the Chairman , Hon Kolade Alabi . Speaking at the grand finale of the programme held at the beautiful multi purpose hall of BARIGA LCDA, the Chairman , Hon Kolade Alabi noted that the competition was introduced by the administration as part of Well structured plans to produce socially stable and self -reliant students who can easily integrate into the larger society. Anytime I'm in gathering like this, I'm always delighted especially seeing the students of public schools doing wonderful well. It is a challenge to me to further look to the development of Education which has been one of my priority. says the council boss. He also noted that there has been an improvement in the public speaking and confidence building of competing students, adding that their use of English has developed tremendously. The events witnessed the presence of the representative of the deputy Governor , Mrs Abosede Adelaja, the SLG, Hon Bukola Adedeji, councillors, Supervisors/ SAs, Council Manager, Mrs Oluwatoyin Senaike, HoD Education and other top council staff.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.